• /_files/images/slideshow//2EEEBE7DE821CF82B0F521B0C55646E7.jpg

The Trust

The Priory Federation of Academies Trust

The Priory Federation of Academies Trust was formed in September 2008 with a mission to raise the educational standards and improve the life chances of students in the Lincolnshire area. There are currently four Academies within the Federation: The Priory Academy LSST, The Priory Witham Academy, The Priory City of Lincoln Academy and The Priory Ruskin Academy.

The Priory Federation of Academies Trust: The Trust

The Trust is the Board of Trustees. The Trust is the legal governing body for all of the Academies within the Federation and is ultimately responsible for the strategic development, the ethos and the management of the Federation and the Academies contained within the Federation.

The Sponsor of the Federation is The Priory Fundraising Trust. The Sponsor has a majority on the Board of Trustees.

The Trust comprises:

  1. Sponsor Trustee: Howard Gee (Chairman of the Trust)

  2. Sponsor Trustee: Frank Knowles

  3. Ex-Officio Trustee: Ian Jones (Chief Executive of the Federation)

  4. Academy Trustee: David Knowles (Chairman of The Priory Academy LSST Governing Committee)

  5. Academy Trustee: Howard Gee (Acting Chairman of The Priory Witham Academy Governing Committee)

  6. Academy Trustee: Simon Richardson (Chairman of The Priory City of Lincoln Academy Governing Committee)

  7. Academy Trustee: Steve Milner (Chairman of The Priory Ruskin Academy Governing Committee)

  8. Parent Trustee: Vacant

  9. Staff Trustee: Peter Murphy (Priory Ruskin Academy)

  10. Co-opted Trustee: Deborah Harry

  11. Co-opted Trustee: Jane Powell

  12. Co-opted Trustee: Peter Houten

  13. Local Authority Trustee: Rosanne Kirk

  14. Representative of Churchill College, Cambridge: Richard Partington

In addition, each Head of Academy is accountable to, and involved in, the Trust.

The Trust meets regularly as a Full Body and, at set intervals, as specific committees. Since 2012-13, these have been: Finance; Audit; Education & Standards; Strategic Development; and Pay, Performance & HR.

The Academies

The four Academies have their own structures of accountability that are unique to the Federation.

The Academy Committees

In addition to the Trust, there is a Committee for each of the Academies. The Committees operate much as an individual school governing body would. Where the Trust is responsible for the overarching strategic direction of the Federation as a whole, the Committee works on a more day-to-day basis with the Senior Leadership Team (SLT) of the Academy.

Quality Assurance and Consistency

Each member of the SLT in each Academy is responsible for a specific area of the Academy’s Self Evaluation (SEF), including its monitoring and development, as well as the award of an overall judgement for this area. Furthermore, each member of the SLT is linked to a member of the Academy’s Committee. The Committee member acts as a Critical Friend with particular reference to the SEF. 

To ensure consistency across the Federation, each area of the SEF, in effect, becomes a Federation sub-committee comprising the member of SLT responsible for that area from each Academy. Judgements in each of the Academies can be moderated at these meetings.



    The Priory Federation of Academies, Lincoln