• /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/101D7CE61777935153B369B9DC53C82A.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/2AC9B9D75675CAA2831EBD01F174D36A.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/3E6A502F3B62A8E7AA8861452B37CB71.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/4081F311A7E7FD0133E644685126F025.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/4B622FBE32606BB4B2D4E7BC8DD3E990.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/5DA3D0EF3C277E47240AF3881F715DEF.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/6804EC75A5032CAA8E7171EA0B96D28E.JPG
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/6988FD9424090F556A7CCD5D2026CC42.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/72C0EF690903B2524912E51883BD50EB.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/7CADEC3C82947639269831D0C2559B30.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/B16D401683234591D063AF0652C0DFA4.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/B553F446A859C8E1D7BA2AF5F37C40FC.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/BF0949393991B5EBD43DC8E1AF06E69A.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Curriculum/ED6E1CBB7FEDEBA6C84C5B45810E6683.jpg

Religion & Ethics

Year 7

Term 1 – Christianity

In this topic, pupils will be introduced to studying the subject of Religious Education and what this means to them. Pupils will then take a detailed look at the fundamental beliefs of Christians, as well as gaining an insight into the holy book, place of worship and important festivals.

Term 2 – Judaism

In this unit pupils will learn about the religion Judaism. They will study the basics of this religion, looking at the founder, the holy book and building as well as the festival of Hanukkah.

Term 3 – Islam

In this topic pupils will look at the key beliefs and practices of the Islamic faith. Pupils will gain an insight into Muslim festivals as well as looking at the Mosque and the Qur’an.

Term 4 – Hinduism

In this unit pupils will learn about the religion Hinduism. They will study the basics of this religion, the Hindu beliefs in Brahman as well as other gods and goddesses. Pupils will also learn about Hindu worship (puja), festivals and the belief in reincarnation.

Term 5 – Sikhism

In this unit pupils will be studying the Sikh faith. They will learn about the founder of Sikhism and the Ten Gurus. They will learn about the Sikh beliefs and the importance of equality shown through worship and the use of the Gurdwara.

Term 6 – Buddhism

In this topic pupils will look at the Buddhist religion and how it differs from the five other religions studies over the year. Pupils will look at the life of Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha) and at the core beliefs and practices at the heart of Buddhism.


Year 8

Term 1 – Creation

In this unit pupils will be considering the origins of the universe. How did the world get here? Can religious and scientific views work together?

Term 2 – Behaviour

In this unit pupils will be learning about the authority within religion and the values that are held by religious followers.  Pupils will reflect on their significance today and evaluate what values are most important to them. By the end of the unit pupils will have a better understanding of how beliefs can affect a person’s behaviour.

Term 3 – Thankfulness

In this unit pupils will be considering what it means to be thankful and what we have to be thankful for. Pupils will also study in depth how Christians, Jews and Muslims show they are thankful.

Term 4 – Signs and symbols

In this unit pupils will look at the difference between a sign and a symbol and will look at some important signs and symbols for Hindus and Christians.

Term 5 – Hope and faith

In this topic pupils will look at the history of the Jewish people and how it is still important to Jews today. Pupils will study the festivals of Rosh Hashanah and Yom Kippur as well as important events in Jewish history such as the exodus from Egypt and the holocaust and will try to empathise with the struggles of the Jewish people.

Term 6 – Belonging and commitment

In this unit pupils will gain an understanding of what it means to belong to a religious community. Pupils will study Christianity and Sikhism and will study two initiation ceremonies from each religion. Pupils will evaluate the importance of these ceremonies and reflect upon the importance of a community.


Year 9

Term 1 – Inspirational people

In this unit pupils will be looking at examples of religious people who have used their faith to help others and fight for what they believe in.  Pupils will study five key people and will gain insight into their lives and how their religion influenced their actions.

Term 2 – Animal rights

In this unit pupils will study the way in which humans treat and use animals, while reflecting on their own attitudes and views. Pupils will also study Hindu and Christian teachings on the use of animals and will reflect on and analyse the role of religion in animal welfare today.

Term 3 – The problem of evil

in this unit pupils will be exploring the existence of evil and suffering in the world. Pupils will be looking at the different types of evil that exist and look at reasons for the existence of evil in the world. Pupils will also be considering the issue of religion, God and suffering and Christian and Jewish explanations for suffering in the world.

Term 4 – Pilgrimage

In this unit pupils will learn about pilgrimage. What a pilgrimage is and what it is involved. Pupils will be learning about three religious pilgrimages and will learn why each pilgrimage is important to the religious believer and the significance of the events that happen.

Term 5 & 6 – Looking for God

In this unit pupils will be considering the purpose of life and the existence of God. What do Christians believe and why do they have these beliefs? Pupils will be studying and analysing different theories on the existence of God. Can we ever know the truth? Or is life and belief a gamble?


Key Stage 4


Course Title: Religious Studies
Qualification:  GCSE
Awarding Body:   WJEC
Description of Course

The course requires students to study eight modules:

  • Relationships; Issues of marriage, divorce, same sex relationships, roles of the family.
  • Is it Fair? Issues of equality, prejudice, discrimination, wealth and charity.
  • Looking for Meaning; Ways in which religious believers show they believe in God.
  • Our World; Creation and issues of stewardship and animal rights.
  • Religion and Conflict; Issues of conflict, peace, suffering and non violent protests.
  • Religion and Medicine; Issues of euthanasia, abortion, IVF, genetic engineering and transplants.
  • Religious Expression; The work of charities, symbolism, pilgrimage and evangelism.
  • Authority: Religion and State; Issues of punishment including capital punishment, human rights, state rules versus religious rules and roles of sacred texts.

Throughout the GCSE the focus will be on two of the major world religions:  Christianity and Islam.





    The Priory Federation of Academies, Lincoln