slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/101D7CE61777935153B369B9DC53C82A.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/2AC9B9D75675CAA2831EBD01F174D36A.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/3E6A502F3B62A8E7AA8861452B37CB71.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/4081F311A7E7FD0133E644685126F025.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/4B622FBE32606BB4B2D4E7BC8DD3E990.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/5DA3D0EF3C277E47240AF3881F715DEF.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/6804EC75A5032CAA8E7171EA0B96D28E.JPG
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/6988FD9424090F556A7CCD5D2026CC42.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/72C0EF690903B2524912E51883BD50EB.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/7CADEC3C82947639269831D0C2559B30.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/B16D401683234591D063AF0652C0DFA4.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/B553F446A859C8E1D7BA2AF5F37C40FC.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/BF0949393991B5EBD43DC8E1AF06E69A.jpg
  • /_files/images/slideshow/lincoln/Sixth Form/ED6E1CBB7FEDEBA6C84C5B45810E6683.jpg

Health and Social Care

Type of Course: Health & Social Care

BTEC Subsidiary Diploma or  Diploma

Course description

These Level 3 Nationally recognised courses provide a vocational emphasis for students interested in a career in the Care sector. Students will have the opportunity to develop a range of skills and techniques, personal skills and attributes essential for  successful performance in working life.

In order to study this course you must achieve:

English  GCSE grade C or higher; Science GCSE grade C or BTEC Merit/Dist and Health & Social Care BTEC Merit.

Maths GCSE grade C or higher would be a distinct advantage.

Topics studied will include:

Effective communication;  Equality, Diversity and Rights;  Health, Safety and Security;  Development through the Lifestages;  Anatomy and Physiology;  Personal and professional development; Nutrition; Safeguarding vulnerable adults and children.

The BTEC Subsidiary Diploma contains 6 units and is worth the equivalent of 1 A Level grade and the BTEC Diploma contains 12 units and is worth the equivalent of 2 A Level grades.


This is by portfolio and there are no external examined units.  The portfolios will use a diverse variety of styles eg. Case studies, projects, work-based assessments and time-constrained assessments.   The Diploma course requires 100 hours of work experience in 2 different work placements.  The Subsidiary Diploma course requires 50 hours of work experience also in 2 different work placements.


An ideal qualification for those wishing to develop a career in any aspects of the Care    Sector, for example; social work, nursing, midwifery, teaching, nursery nursing, elderly care, social care.





    The Priory Federation of Academies, Lincoln